I don’t have kids yet

But I’m on parenting pages a lot. I started doing research about adoption years ago and learned about attachment theory. I figured if I do become a parent one day, it’s a good idea to research it first and there’s so many things I don’t want to pass down to my kids.

Being hit with belts, being humiliated or shamed. Having my future kids fear me.

The way I see it, a lot of people don’t have empathy for kids. Sure, they love their kids, but it still doesn’t stop parents from thinking that hitting kids is somehow for their own good and without being hit they will become thugs who beat up random elderly people.

Truth is, kids need to love and trust their parents more than they need spankings. You can’t really hit random people who annoy you in public. Your boss can’t grab you and smack your behind if you make a mistake at work. If you hit a little old lady, everyone will shout at you, but hitting a two year old child is OK.

This seems warped to me.

I don’t have kids yet, but I was a kid and it seemed being hit taught me to fear and not love and trust.

Leave a Reply

